ECR/Student Awards and Travel Awards




The International Neurotrauma Symposium 2020, with thanks to the generous support of our sponsors, is pleased to present a variety of awards, including Oral and Poster presentation awards and travel awards. These awards have been created to encourage and increase attendance from Early Career Researchers and Students from across the globe. Recipients will be announced at the official Closing Ceremony, Thursday 2 April 2020.

For the purpose of INTS 2020 registration, the definition of a “Student/Early Career Researcher” is a member/non-member delegate who meets at least one of the following criteria:

1. An undergraduate, graduate or medical student at an internationally recognised university or college.
2. A practising nurse or allied health professional.
3. A scientist working in the field of neurotrauma as a research assistant.
4. A resident who is in training at an accredited or internationally recognised university/hospital training program.
5. A postdoctoral student or fellow who has completed an MD and/or PhD who is currently under the supervision of a mentor (or advisor) for the purpose of acquiring additional training in the field of neuroscience as it relates to Neurotrauma and has less than 5 years of post-doctoral training.
6. A postdoctoral fellow who has completed a basic neurosurgery, neurology (or equivalent)  residency or post-doctoral training and who is now gaining additional training in the field of neurotrauma.

The award categories that delegates are assigned to will determine which award they are eligible for. The categories are as follows:
Category 1-4 : Junior scientist
Category 5 & 6 : Post-doctoral fellow

Selection Criteria for Student/ECR presentation awards:
Winners of oral and poster presentation prizes will be selected by panels of international independent adjudicators, assessing scientific quality, presentation, methodology, interpretation, the impact of the research and the answering of questions.

Oral Presentation Awards


Award Name Category Value Number of Awards Proudly Sponsored By
Young Investigator Awards 1 – 4 AU$1,000 2
5 & 6 AU$1,000 1
Sir Graham Teasdale Award – Best Talk on Original Research 5 & 6 US$1,000 1

Poster Presentation Awards

Award Name Category Value Number of Awards Proudly Sponsored By
People’s Choice Poster Prize 1 – 4 US$500 1
5 & 6 US$500 1
Young Investigator Awards 1 – 4 AU$1,000 1
5 & 6 AU$1,000 1


Travel Awards

 The International Neurotrauma Symposium 2020, thanks to the generosity of our sponsors, is presenting a series of travel awards. 

 Selection Criteria for Student/ECR travel awards:

 Winners of travel awards will be selected based on the quality of the submitted abstract. Much like the Oral and Poster Presentation awards, an independent panel of adjudicators will assess scientific quality, clarity of communication, interpretation and impact of the research.


Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences Early Career Research Award, the University of Adelaide